Two Week till Macau Marathon: Listen to your body… NOT!

It was a good week of training, more or less. That is until this morning when I pulled my hamstring on my last long run. Two weeks out from the marathon. Shit!

Everybody knows the expression ‘listen to your body’ but you know it’s kind of hard to know what you are listening for. If I listened to my body I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t go out on most runs, certainly not those starting before 7 am or after work when I’m feeling like it’s about time for a cold beer or a glass of wine.

But yeah I should have listened to my goddamned body more. I really should have paid more attention to the fact that my hamstrings have been tight these past days and they were tight this morning when I headed out on a 17 mile run. I should have paid attention to the fact that it might not be so smart to go out for a long run after a hard day on the track. In any case, at mile 13 I really felt the left hamstring start to protest. Protest more than usual. I stopped and basically walked home (maybe the only sensible thing I’ve done recently). Expectations quickly altered from running 7:30 min miles to just making it home.

Thankfully, at least I hope, this is not a full blown torn muscle or anything like that. I can walk comfortably and there is only a kind of niggling to worry about….  I think this is something that can be healed up in a day or two. Or three? To put a positive spin on this, this is the perfect time to get injured because from this point onwards it’s just slow easy runs. Right?

The moral of the story is listen to your stupid ass body. Two more weeks till Macau and I’m psyched. Injury smingery!

