Two Weeks till Tokyo Marathon 

Well, I think I’m all set to run another sub-3 marathon (knocking on every piece of wood I can find). Of course the number 3 is arbitrary. For some, it might be 2:45 and for others it might be 3:45. But I know that for me, at my current age of 43, 3 hours is a worthy goal. I’ve done it twice now, and this time around I’m fairly certain that I can do it again.

Of course, there are more than a few things that can go wrong. I could injure myself in the final weeks of preparation (been there, done that), or I could find out that I overestimated my current fitness and I could hit the wall in a big, bad, epic kind of way. I could get swept away in the spirit of things and end up going out too fast and then paying for it later. But I have a good feeling about this one and I think it’s going to go well.

One thing that is bothering me is that I’m a bit heavier than I should be. It’s only a few kgs, but I’m going to try to shed a bit of that over the next week or so. Now that I’ve invested all the time and energy into running I might as well go the extra distance and try to maximize my performance. No ‘diet’ per sae, but just an elimination of the non-essentials. That means cutting out alcohol completely and avoiding empty calories as much as I can. This also means a few smaller, light meals. And some of my easy recovery runs can be done on an empty stomach first thing in the morning.

I will have to deal with a bit of hunger — not a crazy ravenous type of hunger, just that low level annoying type. Of course I’ll have to make sure that I don’t compromise training and I’ll also be sure that I eat well on the 4-5 days before the marathon itself. You can lose muscle mass if you are not careful, so I’d better not get carried away.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to post again before Tokyo and then follow up with a race report.

 

